My cause of the day..

This morning I had the chance to take a quick drive to my favorite spot of this time of the year. The village of Ein Sinya. Green meadows, blossoming almond trees of all shades of pink, and fresh clean air.

Ein Sinya in the Spring

Ein Sinya in the Spring

Being in the country side  got me thinking about an important aspect of our heritage, oral heritage. More specifically, traditional songs with their melodies and lyrics. In my family, I grew up with these songs; especially the wedding songs. However, for most of the newer generations, these songs and accompanying traditions have already been lost. My cause of the day is to start a website to document this oral tradition.

I do not claim that this issue has been totally neglected, on the contrary, many wrote books and others brought some of these traditions back to life through live performances and recordings. What is missing, in my humble opinion, is a musical documentation of these songs. Their melodies along with their lyrics. Bahia Khalil a daughter of Ramallah who lived most of her life in California and died there in 2006 collected a comprehensive compilation of Ramallah traditional folklore songs in her book, Ramallah Folklore Songs and Traditions. For someone like me who grew up with this tradition I can recognize many of the songs and know their melodies, however, the rest for me are just dead words. I need to find a way to bring them back to life! Maybe sometime in the near future…

photo (8)

— Jack Rabah

2 thoughts on “My cause of the day..

  1. May I simply just say what a comfort to uncover somebody that actually knows
    what they are discussing online. You actually understand
    how to bring a problem to light and make it important. A lot
    more people have to look at this and understand this side of the story.
    I was surprised you’re not more popular since you certainly possess the gift.

  2. Pingback: Amti (Aunt) Tooteh | Jack's Daily

Leave a Reply

