The journey begins again …

Following the Eastern church calendar, yesterday marked the first day of Lent. As millions of Christians around the world prepare to celebrate Easter, most Christians in the Holly Land are just starting their journey with Lent.

Personally, this is my favorite time of the year. A time to reflect, and a time to enjoy simpler yet much more important things in life. Attending services at Church and chanting the most beautiful byzantine chants of the year is so soothing for the body and soul.

For the last couple of years, I got into the habit of posting a daily byzantine chant to our church group on facebook. This year I intend to continue with this ritual and take it as a chance to activate the blog I created a few years back and never used (http://palestinianchanter.wordpress.com/). I will try to review an album of byzantine chants every day during lent. I’m already one day behind, but hope to catch up later today 🙂

As I wish each one of you a peaceful day with friends and family, I leave you with the following set of photos I took at the Romanian Orthodox Church in Jericho. This church was built around the year 2000 and contains a main church, a smaller chapel, another underground church and cemetery for the nuns and priests, a hotel for Romanian tourists, and home for the nuns and priest who serve there. I keep going back to the church and every time I discover more of its beauty, especially the painted icons that cover every inch of its walls and ceiling. The photos below are of the main church, underground church, and the small chapel. Enjoy!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

— Jack Rabah

Leave a Reply

